top of page
Search
  • mdragon0

Reflections from Mark

My first trip to Israel. First Impressions...


As we approached Israeli air space, after a very long flight, the captain announced that Israeli security protocols require that all passengers be seated upon entering the air space. He gave appropriate warning so that restroom planning could be done.

As the plane descended, you could see brown, barren land immediately followed by the vibrant blue waters of the Mediterranean Sea. The plane entered its final approach to Ben Gurion Airport, and the very noticeable green land immediately struck me. The plane circled, and you saw rows of trees, fields of green, and large areas of farmland.

As we deplaned, I was prepared for the upcoming security screening measures that I read about. Our guide walked us through the steps, and the process was not at all intimidating. The last step was "Passport Control." This, I was told, was the hardest part. Actually, it was pretty easy; the agent said, "Mark, is this your first time in Israel?" I answered yes and was greeted with, " Welcome to Israel, enjoy your time here."

Upon leaving passport control, we were immediately taken for a COVID PCR test, walked out of the airport, to our awaiting driver, followed by a short ride to a serology test. The serology test indicated if antibodies are present, combined with a negative PCR test allowed us to forego the mandatory quarantine period.

We were dropped off at our hotel in the modern and bustling city of Tel Aviv that overlooks the gorgeous Mediterranean Sea.

My serology test results came back positive, showing that I have COVID antibodies. I am now waiting for the negative COVID PCR test that will allow me to explore this wonderful city.




106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page